Joyous Celebrations By Women At Hartalika Teej!

Hello folks! Your old cool friend David is back! The season of festivals has arrived in India, and so I am excited to mingle with my friends and family to have a fun gathering. It is said that India is a land of colours, with so many colourful festivals such as Eid, Rakhi, Easter, Diwali, and lots more.

Well, the fresh festival that is coming ahead is Hartalika Teej. If you are thinking how David Pinto from Goa knows about Teej, then let me tell you that I enjoy every festival, be it of any caste or any city. I think I am 100% Indian, and I want all my readers to feel the ‘Indianness’ always.

Hartalika Teej

Hartalika Teej | Image Resource : bpsansar.blogspot.com

Moving on, I shall give you a glimpse of Teej festival through this blog. The festival is celebrated with excitement and joy in North India in Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Bihar. This grand festival falls just a day before Ganesh Chaturthi.

Girls and women fast on this day without consuming water and devote their prayers and offerings to Devi Parvati. Young girls fast and pray with a wish to get a good life partner, while married women wish for a long and healthy life for their better halves.

The best thing I like about this festival is that women and girls wear Indian traditional dresses like sarees, ghagra choli and beautify with jewelleries right from their forehead to ankles. They even apply Mehendi and look pretty!

Women adorn themselves by applying mehndi on hands

Women adorn themselves by applying mehndi on hands | Image Resource : blog.buzzintown.com

The festival is celebrated to mark the day when Lord Shiva united with her wife Parvati after 108 years. Hence, women sing, dance, and swing all day. They sit together for puja when the story is narrated by the eldest lady of the lot, and offer sweets, flowers and haldi (turmeric) rice to the Devi.

Ladies singing, dancing and enjoying hartalika teej festival

Ladies singing, dancing and enjoying hartalika teej festival | Image Resource : wikimedia.org

Hartalika Teej Pooja

Hartalika Teej Pooja | Image Resource : indovacations.net

I really love how the culture and traditions are being followed since ages in India, and this is the speciality of our country. My north Indian friends always invite me to witness the merriment of this festival. This year the festival will be celebrated on 16th September 2015, and I am already feeling happy to hang around with all my pretty friends.

Leave a Reply

